high school memesical

Since I am having a serious case of writer’s block right now, due largely to the fact that my life consists mainly of getting up at noon, eating a grilled cheese while I watch “Who wants to be a Millionaire” and then going to the yuppie grocery store and trying to toss eligible men into my shopping cart and and nearly being arrested, I haven’t had much worth writing about.

So I have fallen back on the lazy writer’s excuse and tossed in a meme I stole from Geek-Betty@Wordpress about high school, because after all, isn’t that something we all have in common and don’t they write musicals about them, etc. etc.  And besides, other than my parents nearly killing each other every night throughout most of my high school years…it was actually one of the happiest periods of my life. 

But first, here are the breathless and exciting rules: Fill this out about your SENIOR year of high school! The longer ago it was, the more fun the answers will be (especially if you’re old like me and can barely remember those mofos!!)

1. Did you date someone from your school?
Oh my god, I wasn’t that big of a loser. Of course I dated guys in high school. I was the official “Boys Who Aren’t Quite Sure if They’re Gay, but Once They Go over to Witty’s House and Listen to “Cabaret”, they’ll soon be joining the Liza Minnelli Fan Club” Girl. That’s not to say that there weren’t a few straight ones who were interested. Poor Jim D. was totally in love with me. He even wrote poetry for me. Its just that he was morbidly obese, had greasy hair and ate boogers during history class.

2. Did you win anything in Senior’s ‘Who’s Who’?
I was rooked! In high school I was Miss Music Department Everything. I played the piano for all the choral groups. I played the piano for all our theatre productions. Who wins? Some hairy arm pitted hippie chick who played the saxophone in band.  Rather ironically we shared the same Feb. 12th birthday.

3. What kind of car did you drive?
I don’t remember the year, but I think it was a ’72 Chevy Malibu. One day when I was mad at my mom (imagine that?? Yeah, I know you can’t) I “accidentally” rammed it into her car. Ooops!

4. It’s Friday night…where are you?
Probably at the movies with my gay boyfriend Greg. We went to the movies constantly. I was already working as a movie critic for the school newspaper, so I HAD to go to the movies.

5. Were you a party animal?
Not in the least.

6. Were you considered a flirt?
No. I was too shy. Although I was a smart ass. I was vice president of the Secret Sarcasm Society. My friends and I created our own non-school sanctioned club and sat around during lunch and made fun of people wearing really big bell bottoms.

7. Were you in band, orchestra, or choir?
Only the hairy arm pit hippie girl was in the band. But I was in all the choral groups.

8. Were you a nerd?
Not really. True, I did some nerdy things like work both at the library and the school newspaper and yearbook. But I never felt nerdy. I had my sense of humor going for me and didn’t really fit into any one clique.  Theoretically I was rich enough to hang out with the rich kids. I was smart enough to hang out with the smart kids. I was creative enough to hang out with the art kids. I intermingled with everyone but didn’t really belong to anyone. Hey! Kinda like now!

9. Did you get suspended/expelled?
Nope. I did get sent to the principal’s office once for throwing a fully loaded eraser across the English class and knocking a kid’s glasses off.  It was like a direct hit and everyone laughed but unfortunately the teacher saw it. 

10. Can you sing the fight song?
I was never into school spirit stuff. Fight song?

11. Who were your favorite teachers?
Mr. Edwards, my music teacher, although he was a bit naughty. He especially liked the days when I wore my super short dresses.

12. Where did you sit during lunch?
Usually out on the lawn under a tree.

13.What was your school’s full name?
E.M.  High School and that’s all you need to know.

14. School mascot?
A lion. My best friend was actually the school mascot and had to wear this huge dorky paper mache thing on her head with no eye holes. I mean what genius thought that one up? A tiny Japanese girl running around a field with a giant lion head. Nice.

15. Were you on homecoming court?
Yeah, right. Maybe with an uzi.

16. If you could go back and do it again, would you?
Yes, I would love to go back to high school and try and get more kisses.

17. What do you remember most about graduation?
That I ran into my mom’s car in a fit of rage (cough). But mainly, because of a screw-up of arranging people by their super hotness factor, that instead of having to walk down the aisle with the jerky outcast guy (think future terrorist candidate) Keith, I got to walk with the cutest guy in our whole school. So in all my graduation pictures I’m with Mr. Cool 1970’s hair guy. And of course, I was a hottie too…at least in those days.

barb15.jpg

Hey! Its Ali Mcgraw from “Love  Story”! No, just me, in all my skinny glory.

18. Where did you go senior skip day?
I was a goodie goodie. I never did things like that. Damn you Catholic school (me shaking my fist up at the sky).

20.Were you in any clubs?
As a total social experiment in my junior year, I joined every single club on campus the day before Yearbook Photo Day, therefore looking like I was the most fabulously popular and involved girl EVAH! Yeah, I crazy…even then! 🙂 

25. Who was your Senior prom date?
It seems that my Gay Boyfriend decided he wanted , for some unknown reason, to ask out Cybill Shepherd a.k.a, the most popular blonde cheerleader at our school to the Senior Prom and because Greg was cute, she said yes for about 3 1/2 minutes, in which time he ran over to me and said, “I’m going out with Cybill Shepherd, so you’ll have to go find another gay boy who likes Liza” and then he ran back over to her to hold her Olivia Newton John records or something. Anyways, she dumped him like almost immediately and then he came crawling back but naturally I wouldn’t have anything to do with him, instead choosing to dramatically throw myself across my bed and cry for like hours. I mean we were dating for fuck sakes. You don’t stomp on your girlfriend’s face just so you can ask out some cheerleading hag. Sheesh!  I did talk to him a couple of years ago. He’s now very happily involved with a guy in Phoenix and I’m very happy for him.  Cybil? Probably weighs 900 pounds and lives in a trailer park, I’m guessing.

26. Are you planning on going to your 10 year reunion?
I’m way past the 10 year reunion. We had our 30 year reunion 2 years ago. I did go to the 10 year reunion and wore a giant pin that said, “No, I’m not married and I don’t have kids”.  People thought it was funny. Well, some of them did. Some probably just shook their heads and thought it was sad.

27. Do you still talk to people from high school?
I was still in contact with my best friend Tricia (Lion-head girl)  until 2 year ago, but when the reunion committee was looking for her, I gave them her e-mail and she got infuriated and ended our 34 year friendship. Stupid and sad. I still think about her alot.

THINK BACK TO 9TH GRADE…

– Who was your best friend?
Tricia

– What sport did you play?
‘Scuse me? Sports? Yeah, right. Next question.

– What was your favorite class?
My music classes

-Did you go to the dances?
Rarely, except for the “Happy Days” dance where I became the most unlikely star. What happened? Well, Mr. Edward, the slightly inappropriate music teacher decided it would be really cool if, during the dance, he would roar in on his motorcycle a’la Fonzie and pick me up. I didn’t even know he had one until he suggested that. Anyhoo, once he picked me up  he would then very slowly and very carefully (remember those words) drive me back across the auditorium and let me off at the door to tumultuous applause. Right? Whatactually happened? Well, Edwards comes roaring in on his Harley, looking all cool and shit. And yes, well, maybe I was a little flustered. I mean it was a greased up 30 year old male teacher, with a pack of cigarettes rolled up in his tee-shirt sleeve, riding a Harley inside a school building fercrissakes! And then he came over to pick me up. Little shy piano girl. So I got on the back of the motorcycle and everyone started to yell and scream. I think they were actually chanting “Fon-zie…Fon-zie…Fon-zie!! And then he started to pull out across the auditorium. And I was thinking, “Wow, this is like the high point of my entire frickin’ life! Riding a motorcycle inside a building with 8 gamillion people screaming!” And then as we neared the door,  instead of going slower…you know, as WE AGREED TO,  he suddenly stepped on it and we blew right through the door, tearing off across the grass, driving up over sidewalks and  curbs, hitting bushes, popping goddamn wheelies on the front lawn on E.M. high school and I was fairly certain I was going to die! I was also pounding on his back with my fist and screaming the “F” word until he yelled back over his shoulder, “Having a good time?” Needless to say, I was really popular for about a month after that.

-Did you think you were cool?
I don’t think I knew what cool was in those days.

-Describe your outfits
Very very very short dresses. Halter tops. Jeans. Black sweaters. Sandals. Pretty much had a hippie flair to it.

– Did you even have a cellphone
In 1976? Hardly.

– What was the best about 9th grade?
It was the first time I wasn’t in Catholic school and I loved the freedom and not being segregated from the boys.

– Do you miss it?
Absolutely!

12 Responses to “high school memesical”

  1. LA Says:

    So, how IS Ryan O’Neil these days? ~LA

  2. Poolie Says:

    Wonderful entry!

  3. kittiefan17 Says:

    hey, I didn’t date anybody in high school, and I don’t think i’m a big loser=(…but then again, I guess that explains a lot about me now.

  4. Xat Says:

    Last year was my 25th reunion. I spent a lot of time thinking about my sojourn in high school. Weird to think that now my compatriots are worrying about mortgages, kids, and retirement.

    I’m the oddball–and I fell really good about it.

    Thank you for sharing your memories. >) (And I may shamelessly nick the high school meme for my blog–because I am lazy and block-y.)

  5. DanjerusKurves Says:

    Well crap … I’m from England so I can’t answer any of these questions! I didn’t grow up with grades or reunions or proms. ~sigh~

  6. crankygirl Says:

    That’s a very cute picture–very 70’s. I’m not doing the meme because I had no dates or proms in HS, so I’ll feel like a big dork.

  7. Violet Says:

    You look almost exactly the same now! Trippy… I am glad you survived your Fonzie experience. Great story.

  8. Miss Hiss Says:

    From what I recall, looking like Ali McGraw was just about the coolest thing anyone could aspire to in the 70s. (I looked like Princess Caroline [apparently], who, when told she looked like Princess Caroline, used to say, “No, I look like Ali McGraw.”) Anyways, you were — and are — a stunner. And I don’t go to high school reunions because, well, I actually invented Post-Its and I worry noone would believe me… Love, R xxx

  9. scotvalkyrie Says:

    I like your picture — I think you also look like Melanie, and perhaps you should break into “Look What They’ve Done To My Song”. I also think you were much more popular and cool in high school than you ever realized, especially with the motorcycle stunt! Yowza!

  10. Lisa Says:

    Wow! you really did look like Ali McGraw. From the pics you’ve posted here you really haven’t changed that much y’know…still pretty as you were back then.

  11. freshhell Says:

    So, was that you on the set of M*A*S*H? I may have to do this even though my high school was “alternative” and we didn’t have things like proms or organized sports or mascots.

  12. Seacreature Says:

    What a high school experience! That was one of the most entertaining one of those thingies I’ve read in a long time.
    And reading up the list of comments here, I’m pleased to see I wasn’t the only one who didn’t date in high school. It was just too much for me. Now that I look back, I’m glad I only had my fantasy boyfriend. Eddie Vedder…*sigh* I could tell him (his picture) anything and he didn’t pressure me for sex.

Leave a Reply

