What about Bob

When was the last time I went to a rock concert? Oh about ten years ago. When was the ONLY time I ever went to a rock concert? Oh about ten years ago. Unfortunately I am a total music nerd when it comes to anything more wild than “I Feel Pretty” from “West Side Story”. Its not that I don’t like rock music. I just don’t really listen to it.

The concert I went to ten years ago? A Billy Joel concert. I went with some co-workers (yeah! When I actually used to work and be a responsible citizen). My boss had bought the tickets and she seemed relatively smart. So you can imagine my surprise the night of the concert. We get to the very large venue. We walk in on the main floor. I kind of expect to keep walking…you know…somewhere deep into the same zip code as the Piano Man’s piano? But no, we walked one row. That was it. That was where sat. The very last row of this massive venue. Was I upset at spending almost $50 for seats in the very last row?

Like duh!

But I guess you have to look at the bright side of things, if there was ever a fire during the concert, like from some stray pyrotechnic thingies, I would have been safe, since the freakin’ EXIT was like 2 feet behind our seats. But as far as seeing the stage, lets just say, Billy Joel was about 1/10″ tall and its a good thing there were large video screens otherwise I could have just listened to one of his CDs in my car, for free.

Last night? Much-h-h-h-h-h better. Who did I see? Bob Dylan and Elvis Costello, thanks to the uber awesome http://BlueMeany@diaryland.com who is home on leave from Iraq and was kind enough to include me in her concert going plans.

You so nice Meany!

Naturally the best part was getting to visit with Meany once again. Its always good to see her home…and more importantly safe.  And I even got to meet her family when I went over for a yummy home-made pizza by Meany-Mom before the show. It was really delicious. No really!

We had really great seats off to the left of the stage. We were really surrounded by some characters though. Like the lovey dovey couple in front of me. The guy talked throughout Elvis Costello’s set to his girlfriend. And then he swung his arm around the back of her, poking me between the knees with his elbow. You don’t get to do that unless we’re dating buddy. So I started keeping beat with Elvis’ awesome guitar playing and mashing the hell out of his hand with my knees until he finally got the message. Yay me!  And then some 6 ft. 5″ doofus (think Chewbucca) decided to stand up at the beginning of Bob Dylan’s set and block the entire stage.  Like WTF? Your Cloak of Invisibility isn’t working, dude! So we all quickly started yelling at him to sit down, but since tall people aren’t always so bright (not much oxygen up there),  it almost came down to using weapontry.  My favorite though was this middle aged woman, who after the intermission, was just doing a little secret Me and Bob Dylan Dance all by herself. She was writhing around, doing strange things with her arms and looking like she might have been tripping out from some pharmaceuticals.

Rock concerts are neat!!!!

But we were there for the music and we got two and a half hours of solid entertainment. Wow! Elvis was great on his guitar. And how could you not get chills and almost cry when Bob Dylan sang one of his iconic tunes from the 60s, “Like a Rolling Stone” for his encore? You could just feel the energy and immense joy from the audience spilling out over the stage. 

Thanks, BlueMeany. It was a wonderful night.

barbnemily.jpg

14 Responses to “What about Bob”

  1. Smed Says:

    Sounds like fun. Wish I could be there, too. I’d love to be the ‘meat’ in a Meany / Witty sammich. OUCH! Hey…that hurt!

  2. Stepfordtart Says:

    Yay! Last time I went to a gig which didnt have BF in it was about a hundred years ago. I gotta get out more. s x

  3. Poolie Says:

    Sounds like you had a GREAT time!

  4. geekbetty Says:

    once again – NO FAIR!! I want blog buddy hookups!

    AND awesome!! I would love to see Bob Dylan. I’m glad you had a good time.
    you look great in that pic

  5. crankygirl Says:

    sounds wonderful!

  6. webmiss Says:

    Glad you had a good time. I think the home-made pizza would have made it worth it anyway!

  7. Pam Says:

    What a great picture of you and Meany, and what fun! I’m so glad you two got to hang out.

  8. LA Says:

    Excellent! ~LA

  9. freshhell Says:

    Oooh, you got to meet Emily! How excellent. I have to say, I love that cat icon. It makes me laugh (howl?) every time I see it.

  10. karmacat Says:

    Rock on, girl! Concerts are great places for people watching. I saw Elvis in ’85 or ’86 — wouldn’t mind seeing him again.

  11. Meany Says:

    I’m so glad you got to come to the show! I think I’m going to wear my overpriced concert T-shirt today. And yeah, that chick in front of us was cracking me up, too — you’d think with that kind of passion, she’d have managed to get seats a bit closer to the stage, you know? All the better to display her obsessive-stalker persona. If you want to come over tonight, please do! My parents are currently at Wegmans, grocery shopping like they just won the lottery, so I’m sure we’ll have plenty of food.

  12. chaosdaily Says:

    wow sounds fun!!

  13. Andria Says:

    I am so jealous you guys got to hang out! But I’m glad you went out and had fun. 🙂

  14. warcrygirl Says:

    YAY! I’m not into Bob at all but I like Elvis Costello. Did you act out that Kids in the Hall skit and ‘crush their heads’? That’s what I did to Bono at their ZooTV tour.

Leave a Reply

